Works in Progress

It seems we’re often in search of that one thing we’re really, really good at. We compare ourselves to our colleagues, classmates, family members, and friends often searching for that one quality, characteristic, hobby or “thing” that will set us apart. I’ve spent a lot of time searching for that “thing” in myself, and last night, a friend helped me realize that I had found it.

I am a master of starting new things and rarely following them through to an end point. I bring to you, an incomplete list of my current works in progress:

1. The T-Shirt Quilt

As an avid concert-goer in my early 20s, I managed to amass a large quantity of concert t-shirts. I didn’t plan to start a collection, it just happened naturally as I always wanted some kind of memento from a great (okay, not always) show. I wore a lot of them but they slowly stopped coming out of their drawers. During one of the few projects I started and followed through with (my 365 photo project), I took a picture of my t-shirt collection and wondered what I should do with them. A friend made a brilliant suggestion: turn them into a quilt! How crafty! So, I started watching YouTube videos, reading blogs and gathering knowledge to start my quilt. I bought some good quality scissors, measured and cut.

Current status: 12″ x 12″ squares of my t-shirts sitting in a bag in my closet

2. My Photobooks

I have a mild obsession with chronicling the events in my life. I’ve kept a journal since I was seven and I have thousands of photos and videos showcasing the most mundane to most exciting moments of my life.  Before I got a digital camera, I was pretty good at keeping those photos in some kind of order. I would develop my memories (often making doubles to trade with friends) and store them in photo albums that I’ve since looked at hundreds of times. Digital photography made things a little more tricky. I now had thousands more photos and less motivation to print and store them. Then came the photobooks. I was a pro. From vacation albums to yearbook style, I’ve made countless photobooks. The thing is, they’re really time-consuming. And now, there’s a backlog.

Current status: Partway through my 2011 yearbook

3. This Blog

I started this blog over a year ago when I joined a MOOC. I had developed an interest in blogging and figured I should give it a shot. Well, I did. I wrote two posts and called it quits. I was talking to the aforementioned friend yesterday who told me he started a blog and it got me thinking about this one. He encouraged me to get back into it, so here I am. I’m not sure which direction this will go in, or if I will continue writing and sharing on this platform, but I’d like to give it another shot. And who knows, maybe this self-reflection will help me get back to the works in progress I’ve put on the backburner for all this time.

Current status: Unknown

3 thoughts on “Works in Progress

  1. Hey Virg! Glad to hear your’re taking inventory of past projects that have been left behind. I find this statement, “I am a master of starting new things and rarely following them through to an end point” interesting. I believe there are, generally, three types of people: those who never start anything, those who only start enough to finish everything, and those that start everything they can to take it all in. I believe you fall into the third category – good for you :). If you always finish the things you start, you probably aren’t doing enough, or trying enough new things. I guarantee that you’ll finish just a touch less than those who always complete what they start, but you’ll also take in the experiences and memories all of those other opportunities have afforded you – don’t change a thing :).

  2. Looking forward to hearing about your works in progress! It’s easy to get sidetracked… But I love all the projects you have started whether you have finished them or not!

    You are truly an amazing woman!

  3. it’s unfortunate when life gets in the way…NOT! Look at all of the things and projects you have accomplished. Some of the above mentioned ones didn’t have a higher importance than living your life…

Leave a Reply

